Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Clutch: A Novel by Lisa Becker Book Review + Giveaway!

Clutch: a novel is the laugh-out-loud, chick lit romance chronicling the dating misadventures of Caroline Johnson, a single purse designer who compares her unsuccessful romantic relationships to styles of handbags – the “Hobo” starving artist, the “Diaper Bag” single dad, the “Briefcase” intense businessman, etc. With her best friend, bar owner Mike by her side, the overly-accommodating Caroline drinks a lot of Chardonnay, puts her heart on the line, endures her share of unworthy suitors and finds the courage to discover the “Clutch” or someone she wants to hold onto. 

*A special thanks to the author for providing this review copy and the fab giveaway!

The theme of this review is more.

Let's get right to it, shall we?
 I really enjoyed Clutch. I did. But what could have been a 4 or 5 star read, suffered due to the length of the book. It just wasn't long enough. Just as I was really getting into the groove of the story--it was over. No bueno. I needed more.

It was too short lived. Let's talk about the story:
Clutch is the story of the "dating misadventures of Caroline Johnson." That is the gist of it. The reader is taken along on all of Caroline's dates--and they were realistically funny. I've never had these experiences but I'm more than sure there are quite a few women that can relate. Lisa, has this happened to you? 

Caroline is young, and she owns her own handbag design company--she's been to Harvard business school (A HUGE plus in my book, I'm all for the smarties.), and she has a down right hilarious guy best friend. 

There's a ton of drinking, broken hearts, laughter and downright ridiculousness (in a good way) in this novel. So why the three and a half stars?

The novel is short, I knew that going in but when a story is going well, and it's this kind of story--I always find that it can benefit from being longer. At under 200 pages it just wasn't enough. The characters are stand outs but I didn't get the opportunity to fully grasp them like I would have liked.

Without saying too much the ending came far too abruptly and I wanted that time with the two characters, I wanted to see them battle it out. I wanted to have that aggravating resistance, and then the big bang when they came together. The ending was too rushed. It was HEA but it needed a little more time.

I will tell you this story is a treat even at it's length. I laughed and smiled quite a bit, and was all around pleased. The chapter titles were spot on--as they coincided with exactly how everything went, and were types of handbags. How cool?!

Becker has the right thing going for sure, I just think a little less rushed ending, a slightly slower beginning and more pages, and this would have been a five star for me. 

But I highly recommend it to readers who enjoy books like Wallbanger and The Unidentified Red Head.


What you can win:


  1. Definitely sounds like my kind of book. That is short though! Great review!

  2. This sounds like a great read despite the fact that you wanted more. That can always be the downside to novellas or shorts. Great review!

  3. when he has no plans at all! -Mary Rose Benipayo

  4. Oh man. I think I would be left wanting more, too!