Monday, November 30, 2015

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings Book Review

BLURB

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.


Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings. 

REVIEW 
The Murder  Complex pleasantly surprised me. I wasn't expecting to feel any particular way but it was easy to read despite the fast moving alternating POVS. For a debut novel I'd say Cummings did a bang up job.

Meadow is pretty much the strength of her family, trained by a father that takes no prisoners, and a mother with a secretive past life--Meadow is pretty much a bad a**. She fights well, she moves fast, and she's far from emotional. She's pretty emotionless, outside of the love she has from her family--but it plays well for her life. 

Meadow lives in a world where murder runs rampant, and her life is always threatened. But she manages to protect not only herself but her family. Things go as planned until she makes the decision to pursue work in "the city-like" area of where she lives. It's there her life changes--it's there she meets Zephyr, the boy that's meant to kill her. 

What I liked and didn't like:
The alternating POV's--I liked being able to get both the male and the female perspectives. The cons: It jumps between the perspectives pretty quickly so it can get confusing if you don't pay attention.

Meadow: She was fiercely dedicated to her family and I really dug that about her. She was also pretty bad ass which was admirable even if I did feel like she could tone it down a bit. At times it felt like she was being a bad ass to prove she could be one.

Zephyr: I liked how he was with Meadow. For someone that started out as a figment of his imagination, his connection to Meadow was pretty strong--and it was sort of adorable--even if it didn't always read as real--or passionate. There was a lack of connection but I was able to deal.

The society--it's obviously an interesting society--but you don't get much back story. I'm assuming it will come up in book two.

The father: The father wasn't a warm hug giving man. He made it his sole mission to teach Meadow to survive, no matter the odds. It made him tough and for whatever reason I liked that.

All in all the book was a decent read, one I'm interested enough in to continue on YA Dystopia fans.

11 comments:

  1. I found this book decent, but not spectacular. But I'm still willing to read the next book, as I really want to know what happens!
    ~Erika @ Books, Stars, Writing. And Everything In Between.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah I'm interested in finding out what happens next too!

      Delete
  2. Glad you liked this, I ended up loving it for whatever reason. I think I just liked how dark ad different it was. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes it is definitely dark but I'm intrigued to see more of this series.

      Delete
  3. This is one I have seen around and it sounds interesting enough I just don't know if I will get to it. Great review !

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should check it out and see if you like it.

      Delete
  4. Much of the not-so-good reviews delved on how the story line was like Dexter or something. I don't know. Perhaps when I'm in the mood...

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am intrigued by this one. I have seen some great reviews and some average reviews, but no bad ones. I think I'll have to see if my library has it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This one sounds interesting, although I think that I'll pass. Books like this aren't for me haha! Great review! :)

    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

    ReplyDelete