Monday, May 4, 2015

Endangered by Lamar Giles Young Adult Book Review

Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: ARC Provided by publisher
Version: ebook, 288 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thriller
Endangered is a thrilling page-turner perfect for fans of Barry Lyga's I Hunt Killers.
The one secret she cares about keeping—her identity—is about to be exposed. Unless Lauren "Panda" Daniels—an anonymous photoblogger who specializes in busting classmates and teachers in compromising positions—plays along with her blackmailer's little game of Dare or . . . Dare.

But when the game turns deadly, Panda doesn't know what to do. And she may need to step out of the shadows to save herself . . . and everyone else on the Admirer's hit list.
This started out as a non-stop, unputdownable novel--but once the "reveal" came into play it fell flat.

Endangered tells the story of Lauren aka "Panda", half-black, half-white teen ( I mentioned that because, hello, diversity. YES!) is a photoblogger, who exposes those holding dark secrets. Everything is all well and good until things turn deadly. Panda has an admirer that is a little too overzealous about her work.

Okay, I obviously loved the fact that this novel was diverse. I mean, hooray. I loved that. I also really loved how strong-willed and resilient the MC was. She was exactly how I would want her to be--tough, and no-nonsense. I also liked the supporting characters even though I didn't get to know them as much as I wanted. But, what I learned of them I liked.

This book held me from page one. I was immediately taken in by the unraveling mystery. What killed it all for me was the last quarter of the book. The big "reveal" killed it all. Was it surprising yes? Did I suspect who it was, nope? And even with all of that considered, the book kind of died towards the end.  The hype, the mystery the excitement, it died by the end and that's what keeps me from rating this book higher.

That's not to say anything about this author's writing skills. They're on point. It's clever, smooth, and relatable. I really liked this author's writing style. For that reason alone I would read more of this author's work. I just wish it could have finished more solidly. I'm sad that it didn't because I was prepared to rate this one high.

FYI, there is pretty much no focus on romance in this novel, and oddly it works. I am all for romance, but without it in this book, it still worked. It wasn't necessary. 

Endangered encompasses a interesting mystery, with solid characters, and a decent plot. I just wouldn't be looking for any kind of Gone Girl level reveals--but expect to be entertained. 







2 comments:

  1. Yay to diversity in young adult books, I feel this year the genre is getting a lot better. The mystery vibe does sound interesting, thank you for putting this under my radar Jazmen :) <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, I hate when that happens! The last time this happened to me was when I read Cold Burn of Magic. I was already thinking about rating it 5 stars, but then the plot just went downhill around the middle half.
    But back to this book, the characters sound amazing because yay diversity! I love that. Maybe I'll check it out. Thanks for the great review! :D

    ReplyDelete