Sunday, November 17, 2013

Univited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan Book Review!

Uninvited (Univited #1) by Sophie Jordan 
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publish Date: January 28th, 2013

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia 


The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. 



Review:
3.5 out of 5 stars

*copy provided by edelweiss in exchange for an honest review*
A pretty fast moving outside of the norm story that will entice readers with its clarity and ease. I got through this book rather quickly, quicker than I expected actually. It was easy to read and follow. The plot comes up pretty quickly which makes it easier to read and enjoy. 


The story itself is pretty intriguing and the characters are easily likable although you don't learn much about them aside from the main character. I'm assuming readers will learn more about the secondary characters in the sequel.


The world building and character building is pretty minimal but concise. You get a general idea of who the characters are and where the story takes place. I definitely think there's more to see with this story, it definitely reads like a trilogy. It would make a nice addition to any YA lovers library. I'm pretty excited to see where this will go.



No comments:

Post a Comment