Saturday, November 23, 2013

Sworn To Raise by Terah Edun Short Review!

Sworn To Raise (Courtlight #1) by Terah Edun
Published Date: April 10th, 2103
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic 

Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.


Review:
3 1/2 stars out of 5
*copy provided by author in exchange for a honest review*
This was a pretty enjoyable book. It read easy and had very- little errors. I found it easy to get into and I read it one sitting.


The story itself has an interesting premise, and intriguing characters. What was off for me was the disconnect between characters. Although they were developed well they didn't connect to each other in the way characters normally do. For the romance aspect there was a tease of romance but it never really blossomed. It might be a good thing though. 

The ending was a little cliffhanger-ish. I'm pretty intrigued to see where the story will go. The ending left me with a lot of questions although, and I'm not sure in what direction the next book will go. I imagine that the second book will be substantially better, as is the case with most trilogies. So there's definitely something to look forward to.



No comments:

Post a Comment