Friday, July 5, 2013

Crash (Visions # 1) by Lisa McMann Book Review

Crash (Visions #1) by Lisa McMann Book Review

Rating

★ 1/2
3 1/2 out of 5 stars

(*Contains spoilers*)

Reminiscent of The Numbers Trilogy by Rachel Ward, Crash is a story about a teenage girl named Julia "Jules" Demarco. Jules has been having visions; visions of a crash. The crash occurs at a neighboring restaurant resulting in an explosion that leads to death of all that are inside; her crush/enemy is one of them. You see her family runs a pizza shop, Demarco's Pizzeria. Jules works in the shop along with her mother, father, sister Rowan, and brother Trey. They also have a food truck that they work throughout the week. Jules is practically knee deep in pizza sauce. The only thing that keeps them from being one of the main pizza shops in the town is Angotti's.

Angotti's is where her crush's family works. It's owned by them, and her father hates the Angotti family. Jules doesn't know for sure why but rumor has it her crush, Sawyer's grandfather stole her father's recipe for sauce that led to them becoming infamous, and them barely making it. She is forbid from seeing Sawyer, and slowly but surely they're no longer talking despite Julia's misgivings on the matter. She still loves him, and she probably always will but, this is the way it has to be. So they spend a lot of time dancing around each other, trying to ignore each other's presence. Then these visions happen and Jules cannot stop seeing visions of this crash. The crash that happens at the Angotti restaurant where, she repeatedly sees body bags, once of which contain Sawyer Angotti's dead body.

Julia tries desperately to emerge herself into her work, and school but the visions just increase, showing up everywhere she looks. They appear on billboards, car windows, televisions, everywhere. She realizes she has to do something, or lose Sawyer forever.

This story was cleverly written, and fast paced. It didn't take long for the story to kick off. It was a quick read, as I noticed most of McMann's books are. The characters were comical, and relatable. I liked the book although I wouldn't classify it as a favorite.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

"His lashes are super thick, super long, deep brown, complemented by the green of his irises. Every blink is a sweeping drama, a sexy ornament, a mating ritual..."

"I wonder if love would feel as good if there wasn't any pain."

"Sawyer, despite all that I'm going to save your fucking life anyway, because I love you, and one day you'd better fucking appreciate it."

"I die a little. No, a lot."

1 comment:

  1. Crash was just one of those books that grabs your attention immediately. Lisa McMann has written a sure-fire hit that readers will devour immediately. Honestly Lisa McMann hasn't disappointed yet and this is one of those books you won't want to miss. I recommend this book for fans of Wake and Hex Hall. Crash will leave readers clamoring for more with that shocking cliffhanger.

    ReplyDelete